Ten questions to… Lloyd Hollett

marlowe_140816-114

Our panto funnyman Lloyd Hollett answers our quickfire questionnaire.


Best experience on stage?
It has to be asking my wife to marry me, at the end of Sleeping Beauty. There’s not much that can top that, that was pretty magical. Having her family there, and mine. Nobody knew I was going to do it, I didn’t know if she was going to say yes –  but she did.

Worst experience on stage?
My trousers split during the bathroom scene in panto one year. Showing my bottom to 1,200 school children on a 10.30am show was not a highlight of my career.

Best thing about Canterbury?
The Marlowe Theatre.

When you were a child what did you want to be when you grew up?
I wanted to be in the panto! I wanted to come and perform in the show here. I used to come every year, from when I was five years of age, when I saw Dick Whittington, with Robert Powell. I’ve still got the programme.

Greatest remaining ambition?
I want to be in a farce. I’ve done some in the past, but I’d  like to do more of them.

Best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?
From a comedy point of view: if you’re heckled, try and embrace it, and let them join in, and try and see it as funny, not a bad thing. If you can incorporate them, nine times out of 10 it shuts them up.

If you could have a superpower what would it be?
I’d quite like to fly, so I could get to my gigs quicker, as opposed to driving for hours.

Guiltiest pleasure?
My cats.

Who would play you in the film of your life?
Dame Edna.

How do you relax?
Gardening. I can spend hours in the garden, digging away, watering the plants.

Leave a Reply

