The Marlowe Theatre Staff Picks 2016

We’ve got lots of great things coming your way in 2016 – we asked a few of our staff members to tell us what they are most excited about.


 

Final_001b

The Marlowe Theatre Staff Team

Paul Turner, Finance Manager

“I can’t wait to see Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. It was my favourite film as a child and the original story was written by Ian Fleming, who created James Bond – another obsession of mine. I’m also looking forward to seeing Into The Hoods, as I really enjoyed Some Like It Hip Hop in our first season in this building. I’ll also definitely be seeing Thriller Live! again.”

Adam Wood, Studio Manager

“I’m looking forward to Fake It Til You Make It. It sold out in Edinburgh, the reviews are amazing, and I’ve wanted to get Bryony Kimmings here for a while. Folie à Deux is an amazing blend of beautiful singing, incredible instrumentation, and an impressive lightshow from one of the country’s most exciting new opera companies. I saw it at Spitalfields Music Festival and I cannot wait to see it again.”

Joseph Janman, Box Office Supervisor

“I’m looking forward to Single Spies – I’ve seen a couple of Alan Bennett’s plays previous and they’ve always been cracking. Also looking forward to The Sound Of Music. It was the first musical I saw in the West End and I’m looking forward to seeing it again here!”

John Baker, Head Of Marketing

“I really love the National Theatre’s production of An Inspector Calls. I saw it in the 1990s and it will be great to see it again. It’s one of the most excitingly staged productions I’ve ever seen. I’m also looking forward to the return of Vamos, the mask theatre company, with their new production The Best Thing.

Amita Sharma, Box Office Assistant

“I am looking forward to ETO bringing us Gluck’s Iphigénie en Tauride because it will be a new opera for me. I’m also really looking forward to The James Plays – a whole day of drama. Wonderful!”

Kate Evans, Marketing Publications Officer

“Seeing The Lady In The Van at the cinema reminded me just how brilliant Alan Bennett is, so I’m really looking forward to Single Spies in March. I’ve also already booked my tickets for Backstage In Biscuit Land in The Marlowe Studio – it sounds like an unusual but very funny show.”

Sam Scott, Development Manager

“I can’t wait to see what Pixie Lott brings to the iconic role of Holly Golighty in Breakfast At Tiffany’s. I’m also looking forward to Into The Hoods, as I love street dance and hip hop.”

Paul Ainsworth, Learning And Participation Officer

“I’m really excited about The James Plays. Event theatre in Canterbury – I can’t wait! Folie à Deux in the studio will be a fantastic piece of contemporary opera. In terms of my day job, I’m working with The Marlowe Youth Theatre on a play called Blackout, which is part of National Theatre Connections. I think they’re going to do a great job.”

Sophie Shears, Arts Marketing Trainee

“I’ve seen Max and Ivan three times before at the Edinburgh Festival, and I can’t wait to see their new show The End in The Marlowe Studio. I know all the songs in Hairspray, so I’m looking forward to that too.”

Joanne Pearson, Fundraising Development Support Officer

“Having seen them play once before, I’m looking forward to The Ukulele Orchestra Of Great Britain. Give them a try.”

 

Leave a Reply

