Beached: an interview with actor James Dryden

James Dryden as Arty during Beached rehearsals. Photo by Ludovic des Cognets.

James Dryden as Arty during Beached rehearsals. Photo by Ludovic des Cognets.

With just a few days to go until the premiere of our homegrown dark comedy Beached, we had a quick chat with the brilliant actor playing lead character Arty – James Dryden.

What did you first think when reading the script?

I thought, “they do know I’m not 67 stone right!”. I was also genuinely excited about the prospect of being a part of it. I love a good dark comedy and this ticked all the boxes for me.

Tell us about Arty.

Arty is lovely. He is a 67 stone 18-year-old who seems to be quite happy plodding along with life as it is living with his mum. Throughout the course of the play he realises that he perhaps wants to change the way he lives his life in order to be a “human being”. I think Arty is a gentleman.

How do you feel about, and how have you prepared, for playing Arty?

I feel very excited to be playing the role of Arty. It is a big challenge having to be sat down for most of the play as I need to keep my energy up. I suppose I’ve been preparing myself by having to eat lots and lots of cream buns and chocolate eclairs (which is quite nice). I’ve got a feeling that I may need to renew my gym membership after the play ends…

Why should people come and see Beached?

It’s a great play, packed full of cracking scenes. It’s very funny and also very moving. It’s one of those plays that will get people talking afterwards and I think that that is important.


You can also read an interview with director Justin Audibert and an introduction to all our cast members.

Beached is at The Marlowe Studio from Tuesday 28 October to Saturday 1 November, and at Soho Theatre (Soho Upstairs) from Tuesday 4 to Sunday 23 November.

*The production contains adult themes and language.

Leave a Reply

