Staff picks from our autumn season brochure

Shrek_email_main

It’s exciting, but also nerve-wracking, when our new brochures go on sale: what will your reaction be to the forthcoming season of shows on offer?

Judging by the queues of people at Box Office, the non-stop ringing of the phone (our Box Office team really are incredible!), and the number of people booking online, it seems you are pretty happy.

It may well be a busman’s holiday, but staff also love flicking through the brochures and deciding what to buy tickets for. Here’s a selection of what we’ll be seeing.


The Play That Goes Wrong was one of the funniest pieces of theatre I’ve seen and I am really looking forward to their next instalment, Peter Pan Goes Wrong. I’m hoping to laugh just as much – or more if at all possible!”

Joseph Janman, Box Office Supervisor


“I’m really excited for the return of Blind; I want to know how time and the Edinburgh run has changed the show since it premiered here in April. Of course, like everyone, I want to see Beached – which is super-exciting in terms of our level of involvement going up a gear producing a show for the first time. And then I have my eye on shows like Small Plans and Where The White Stops, that I hope will be these quiet little gems.”

Adam Wood, Studio Manager


“I’m most excited about Rebecca in the main house. It’s going to be a really high quality and innovative production and I’m intrigued to see what a brilliant company like Kneehigh do with the text. Also even having already seen The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time three times, I’d see it again in a flash.

I recently watched the amazingly passionate and brilliantly entertaining Bridget Christie in Edinburgh and can’t wait to see the piece that earned her the credit she deserves.”

Katherine Igoe-Ewer, Programming Administrator


“There are so many shows I’m looking forward to, but to choose just a couple, it would be Peter Pan Goes Wrong, having laughed until my sides ached at The Play That Goes Wrong earlier this year; and The Car Man as I love Matthew Bourne’s work and haven’t seen this one before.”

Joanne Pearson, Fundraising Development Support Officer


The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time. Photo of original West End cast, by Brinkhoff Mögenburg.

The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time. Photo of original West End cast, by Brinkhoff Mögenburg.


Seth Lakeman (here as part of Canterbury Festival) – this man is the reason for my obsession with British folk music. He is one of this country’s most talented musicians and his rousing choruses fill your body with tingles! Then in The Marlowe Studio it has to be Shadow Boxing – one of the most moving and intense performances I have ever had the pleasure to see. I cannot recommend this highly enough, whatever your walk of life!”

Simon Garlinge, Box Office Assistant


“I saw Henry IV Part I with Antony Sher back in April and would really recommend it. It’s a great play, so underrated and really exciting to have the Royal Shakespeare Company here.

The Paper Birds’ Blind brought me to tears when it premiered here, and I’ll definitely go again when it’s back in October. I can’t wait to find out Where The White Stops…and I’m a little terrified of delving into the Horror Box.”

Andrew Dawson, Creative Projects Officer


“In the main auditorium I’m excited for Cirkopolis by Cirque Eloize. Having loved their show the previous time they were here I’m really looking forward to seeing what they have in store this time around. Then for the Studio it has to be Beached. I’ve been here since the theatre opened, and finally seeing the theatre produce a West End transferring show in the Studio is a great privilege.”

Rhys Hughes, Box Office Supervisor


“I’m excited for all the theatre in the Studio, but also to see Bridget Christie and Sara Pascoe. They’re both brilliantly funny and so deserving of the success and critical acclaim they’re getting. Hearing John Cleese’s anecdotes in the main auditorium will also be a real privilege.

The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas will be inevitably bleak, but it’s an important story and looks to be a really powerful production. I’ve also wanted to see The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time for the longest time, so I’m excited for it to come here in May.”

Amy Smith, Marketing Officer


“My introduction to Kneehigh was Brief Encounter, the last week-long show in the old theatre. I was hooked and have seen them a couple of times since, so I’m really looking forward to welcoming them back with Rebecca.

As an audio describer (our service for blind and visually-impaired customers), it’s going to be interesting to experience the described performances of Henry IV Parts I & II. The RSC are sending their own describer and I’m sure I will learn a lot, as well as enjoying these critically-acclaimed productions and seeing Sir Antony Sher in action.

My daughter (18) grew up with the Shrek films, so it will be great to bring her along to see the stage version, along with my younger son, who’s fairly new to the big green guy.”

Sarah Munday, Press Officer


Click here to download both our brochures, then comment letting us know what you’re most excited to see!

Leave a Reply

